Bottle Rockets & Sleeping Pills – Six

Six months.  Three months short of the birth of a baby, six months short of a full year…  The Election happens this November.  Already the campaign trail has began to rot and lose momentum.  The last four contenders beginning to get more cut throat and offensive in their campaign strategy.  Off and on the news goes, the current state of things being rather depressing and we’d probably get a better idea of what’s going on if we dropped some LSD and concentrated on any one candidate.  (Speaking of which – Albert Hofmann died yesterday.  Thank you Albert, you left your mark on the minds of the masses and you will be missed.)

To really get to the point of this entry, here’s my question for you all.

Are you going to vote?

Honestly, I could give a shit less if you did, but the truth of the matter is that other people DO care.  And YOU should too.  When November comes, are you going to go make an educated guess, or will you just throw your vote to the biggest media whore?  What will you do?  Tick tock, tick tock, tick tock.

I will not vote because as I’ve said before, I don’t believe in contributing to the delinquency of a nation in the depths of an Apathy binge.  That and I really don’t want to register to vote.  I’d rather not get called for Jury duty.  (I’m laughing alot right now.)

It seems not long ago that Dr. Hunter S. Thompson was on the Campaign Trail in ’76.  I wasn’t born until ten years later, but I can still see and feel the ripples of his trip.  If downers didn’t come into fashion until Nixon entered the White House, speed came into fashion as soon as there was a feeling that shit wasn’t getting done.  There was a need for more hours spent awake to make up for all the lost profits from the Nixon years onward.

While it’s Hunter’s life that we celebrate, it’s his death that spurred me to continue my writing.

“This life would be a lot less bearable if I didn’t know I could end it any time I wanted.”  –  Dr. H.S.T.

With that line burned fresh in my mind, I realized that I was truly the one in control of my life.  Whether to continue it or end it, waste it or make something of it.  It was MY choice.

Well, now YOU have a choice.  Whether you will make your choice count or not is up to you.  What you choose is your choice.  Realize that.  Absorb it.  Let it become part of you.

When November comes, will you choose the lesser evil, or will you roll the dice and go for change?  Will you give up your freedom for a bullshit reason, or will you grow a backbone and instead of ‘taking the bull by the horns’, give it a good swift kick in the balls?

I’m calling you out America.

Bring it on.

“We’ve been bored for too long!” – Dr. Steel

Regards,
Scarab

~ by binarycheshire on April 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
