The Countdown Begins

“There are various Ways. There is the Way of salvation by the law of Buddha, the Way of Confucius governing the Way of learning, the Way of healing as a doctor,as a poet, teaching the Way of Waka, tea, archery, and many arts and skills. Each man practices as he feels inclined. It is said the warrior’s is the twofold Way of the pen and sword, and he should have a taste for both Ways.”

Musashi MiamotoGo Rin No Sho – (The Book of Five Rings)

The hour hand on the clock ticks away as if thunder rolling across a great plain. In the vast blackness of my world, there is a light. It pulses and weaves in the stillness, an idea, a mission, a goal. As the time passes away, the light grows brighter and brighter still, until finally, I see. There before me lies the answer, the question, and the actors in the play. Before me lies all that I ever wanted, and all that is left to endure or enjoy. The last free place in the world, en route.

Bloody clock… While the years fly by like minutes, the hours creep by like sloths on heroin that took the time for a nap along the way. Planning and preparation are nearly complete, or as complete as we can have them till we get on the road. Perhaps a few things are still loose ends, packing my bag, doing last minute laundry, and trying to find a dentist… Blah… Give me a Black & Decker and some vodka and we’ll see if these last bits of tooth will bother me after that night. Hoo HOO! That would be quite a night, but who knows… It might work.

I’m getting more anxious by the day. The damn trains that come by every morning remind me all the more of where I’ll soon be, a reoccurring mirage of the future. Always there’s this urge to hop aboard it and just get out there, but that would get me nowhere but a few more miles down a road. Best to savor what I have while I still have it, because soon, we fly. It’s still odd to think on it really… How it’s grown so much in such a short time. Half the time I don’t know what to say beside stuttering ‘thank you’ a few times to those that have helped us so much. Hell, half these people I’ve yet to even speak with. But for all of them, THANK YOU. Jack and I probably wouldn’t have gotten so far so quickly without your generous support.

The next few days will perhaps be the longest of my life… Only to be forgotten in my older years. It would figure. At any rate, I’ve previous obligations to a certain female in my life, so ‘hello’, ‘goodbye’, and ’42’.

Regards,

Che$hire aka Scarab

~ by binarycheshire on April 7, 2008.

One Response to “The Countdown Begins”

  1. […] Scarab talks about Twitter Travels […]

Leave a Reply

 
