Sinking into Linux

I feel stupid and ignorant.  lol

This is okay, it’s a new system to work with, but that doesn’t stop me.  So I research what I can.  The most recent error I have received on my quest to escape Windows is that my laptop cannot find a Boot Device.  I know that it’s probably talking about a hard drive or something equally important, so I take my quest to Google.

I will update throughout the day with my successes or failures on my first week in Linux.

Regards and ready to cuss,

Cheshire

~ by binarycheshire on February 11, 2008.

4 Responses to “Sinking into Linux”

  1. If you don’t have a CD-ROM drive (with an Ubuntu installation CD in it), that’s probably why it’s not finding a Boot Device. Boot device means anything you can boot from, it could be a hard drive or, more commonly for Ubuntu, a CD. Here’s something if you haven’t seen it already: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation

  2. Have you installed your OS? I’m assuming you chose to go with Ubuntu. If you installed, but told it not to install GRUB, you’re going to get an error similar to that–or just a blinking cursor.

  3. I helped out some and we resolved this issue tonight. Cheshire is now exploring the newness of Linux Mint.

  4. Quite so. And it’s not working too badly at all. ^.^ Windrawls haven’t started yet either. lol

Leave a Reply

 
